Posted by: MichelleChant | October 6, 2008

A commitment to myself

The view from my back door.

The view from my back door.

Well the long weekend is coming to a close.

Its been a pretty chilled out weekend …. reading, and hanging out with friends.

The weather hasn’t been all that great.

In fact, I’ve just looked up and it looks like its gently snowing outside … yup, its definitely the finest of fine snow … no wonder its cold!

Its been windy and rainy all weekend – but the rain I appreciate because the drought is so  bad, any little bit in the dams helps.

The wind has been quite strong though – it looks as though the ducks are body surfing across the lake.

Trinity just wants to go outside and bark at the wind to tell it to go away.

With such inclement weather, I’ve had the opportunity to do a lot of refection, and I feel it is a beneficial time to set new goals and dreams — to look beyond the cliff’s edge.

It is time to speak with authority and not be afraid of my power. To walk in humility and in service with a proud and giving nature. And to rise above petty concerns of those around me.

I feel its time to look after me instead of everyone else. My physical, mental and emotional health is of paramount importance at the moment.

So I make this commitment to myself before all of you. From here on in:

  1. Only healthy food will enter my body.
  2. I will exercise every day.
  3. I will lose 12 kg by Christmas.
  4. I will meditate every day.
  5. I will have a massage, at a minimum, of once a month.

What do you do to look after yourself?

Responses

  1. This all sounds really great Mich. I can tell you that I lost 10kg in 3 months by doing just what you have put forward here.

    As you may know I do energetic yoga every day, meditate twice daily, eat vegetarian food & get plenty of sleep (this assists with weight loss too). Health has been my aim, but looking/feeling good has been the bonus.

    My only advice is to manage your time well. If you can book your exercise/meditation into your day, without exception (& it should be top priority), you will achieve your goal.

    Sending you some healthy, energetic vibes 🙂

  2. Thanks Patti – that’s good advice …. scheduling in the time! I want to get up at 6am to take Trinity for a walk around the lake before I go to work (its around 8km) … I’m going to do a 3km walk at lunch times … and then I’m going to do pilates when I get home … as for the meditation … just before I go to bed.

  3. i am afraid that i have been looking after myself emotionally but physically not as much as i would like. i think i am going to walk along this path with you because i need to exercise again and i really could stand to lose at least that much as well … i was eating 6 small protein filled meals a day and that was working really well but then life got busy and i went back to my bad habit ways, sigh. thank you for the reminder 🙂

    wishing you the best on this healthy good to yourself journey, xo

  4. Yay for you! I admire your strength and fortitude in this commitment to yourself. You go girl sounds so lame, but “YOU GO GIRL!”
    I promised myself I’d get on track this summer…did I? nooooooooo!
    Instead, more junk food, not enough exercise, no emotional work on myself, no meditating, no yoga.

    I’m trying to start fresh again. I’m trying to stop letting the little things get in the way of my motivation. I think beginning is the hardest part.

    P.S. anxiously awaiting my Denise Linn book!

  5. I love this commitment to yourself. I think I will adopt it also most definitely. Thank you for your inspiration. I have left something for you on my blog.

  6. I am going to make a commitment too.. will post it on my blog. It is about time that I started to cherish my body & soul and to start loving my self.

    I am looking at a life coach – any suggestions? also would love a card pulled for me if the offer is still open xo

  7. Beautiful view!

    I do yoga at least once a week and try to meditate daily. I remind myself as much as possible that life is supposed to be fun. I also go for long walks and listen to Abraham CDs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

