Posted by: MichelleChant | October 11, 2008

Dreams

I had a dream last night that has stayed with me so clearly throughout the day – however I’m not to sure to make of it.

In it were some of the bullies that I have encountered throughout my life. This was not an entirely pleasant dream.

So the dream was set in a work enviornment, why the bullies I encountered at school were there I have no idea – I hadn’t given them any thought what-so-ever in literally 20 odd years.

In the dream, I was successful. The bullies were there to try and trip me up … and wanted me to ‘fall into line” … one even threatened my physically, but I remember looking at her with pity.

My new boss was there, and she backed me up, a tower of strength.

I didn’t feel the need to concede to their demands and threats (not that I have in the past), and I didn’t feel threatened, just pity for them.

Now at school I was bullied because I was different – I was a dancer (ballet) and very good at it … all my time was consumed with ballet so I really didn’t have a lot of time to just muck around with the other kids at school, and I didn’t want to.

I guess that set the scene for me later in life, not to worry about being ‘one of the gang’, that it was ok to march to the beat of my own drum.

The last 10 years I’ve been surrounded by bullies in the workplace, sometimes I was the target, and other times I was witness to others being bullied – the people I worked with really weren’t very nice.

All thats changed now … I work in an environment where excellence is rewarded … and my colleagues are supportive.

Now I looked up the dream interpretation of bullying:

Dream of being bullied by someone is a proof that you are oppressed by others in daily life. It is a sign of desire to be liberated. Try to change environment.

On the other hand, having a dream of bullying someone tells you that you are under stress. You need to take vacation or have some exercise to refresh and relax.

I guess the latter refers to my situation now … I am under stress, but not because I am being bullied … work is kinda crazy at the moment … I’m also feeling a little burnt out having taught Chakradance all year without a break.

So in 6 weeks I’m flying out to Phuket to lie on a beach, drink cocktails, have massages and explore the local culture.

Woooo!

Responses

  1. Your vacation in six weeks sounds fabulous! Good for you!

  2. oh how I wish I could just lie on a beach too.. I have had bullies in my life the past week or so while i was away and it has been hard going for me since I got home.. it all did my head in…

    and how i wish I could find a chakradance teacher here… they all seem to have disappeared in the mountains.

    I am sure you will have a wonderful break – well deserved 🙂

  3. I dream about my ex-husbands when I am stressed. lol! I am trying to get out of the relationships but something keeps getting in the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

